navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

Cannons Edge Nationals for First MLL Championship

March 17, 2016
Final Stats (HTML)

ANNAPOLIS, Md. - Attackman Matt Poskay scored all three of his goals in the first half as the Boston Cannons built a 6-3 lead in the first half en route to winning their first Major League Lacrosse championship with a 10-9 victory over the Hamilton Nationals in the 2011 Sports Authority MLL Championship Game at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

Playing in the MLL title game for the second time in their 11-year history, the Cannons held a second half surge by the Nationals to win the title.

After attackman Ryan Boyle scored just 1:41 into the first quarter, the Nationals used back-to-back goals from midfielders Kevin Crowley and Cody Jamieson to take a 2-1 advantage with 7:12 left in the first quarter.

But, Poskay scored twice in a four-minute span to take a 3-2 lead with 1:44 remaining in the period.

Attackman Casey Powell tied the game at 3-3 just over three minutes into the second quarter before the Cannons answered with three consecutive goals for a 6-3 lead. After midfielder Mike Stone scored an unassisted goal, Poskay converted a Boyle feed to increase the lead to 5-3. Less than a minute later, midifelder Brad Ross took a pass from midfielder Paul Rabil and scored past goalkeeper Scott Rodgers, upping the Cannons' advantage.

Powell scored just over a minute into the third quarter to trim the deficit to 6-4 before midfielders Pat Heim and Matt Smalley tallied back-to-back goals to increase the Cannons' cushion to 8-4.

But, the Nationals scored three straight goals to narrow the margin to 8-7 with 13:56 left in the fourth quarter. Powell led the run by scoring two goals for Hamilton.

The teams traded goals before midfielder Kevin Buchanan gave Boston a 10-8 lead when he scored on a diving shot past goalkeeper Brett Queener with 3:03 remaining.

With 32 seconds left, Jamieson scored an unassisted goal to trim the margin to 10-9, but the Cannons won the ensuing face-off and ran out the clock to claim the championship.

While Poskay led the Cannons with three goals, Heim contributed a pair of goals for Boston, which outshot Hamilton by a 49-38 margin. Goalkeeper Jordan Burke was named as the Bud Light MLL Championships MVP after making nine saves in the championship game victory.

Powell scored a game-high four goals to lead the Nationals in a losing effort while Jamieson scored twice. Rodgers made 16 saves in the first half while Queener contributed four saves.

2011 Sports Authority MLL Championship Game: Boston Cannons 10, Hamilton Nationals 9
Hamilton  2-1-3-3 / 9
Boston  3-3-2-2 / 10

Goals: HAM - Casey Powell 4, Cody Jamieson 2, Jeremy Boltus 1, Brodie Merrill 1, Kevin Crowley 1; BOS - Matt Poskay 3, Pat Heim 2, Brad Ross 1, Matt Smalley 1, Ryan Boyle 1, Kevin Buchanan 1, Mike Stone 1. Assists: HAM - Brett Bucktooth 1, Jordan Hall 1; BOS - Ryan Boyle 3, Paul Rabil 2, Kyle Sweeney 1. Saves: HAM - Scott Rodgers 16 (30:00, 6 goals allowed), Brett Queener 4 (30:00, 4 goals allowed); BOS - Jordan Burke 9 (60:00, 9 goals allowed). Shots: HAM - 38; BOS - 49. Power-Play Opportunities: HAM - 1 for 3; BOS - 1 for 3. Attendance: 5,027.