navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

Machine Players Named to Team USA Exhibition

March 19, 2016
US Lacrosse announced today that Ohio Machine defenseman Kyle Hartzell and attackmen Chazz Woodson and Steele Stanwick will be on the U.S. Men’s National Team roster for the Sunday, January 27 exhibition against defending NCAA champion Loyola at Champion® Challenge, a US Lacrosse event.

Hartzell, the 2012 Ohio Machine MVP, finished the 2012 season leading the team in two-point goals with nine, putting him sixth in two-point goals during a Major League Lacrosse (MLL) single season all time, and set the MLL record for two-point goals in a season by a defenseman. His 21 points on the year also broke reigning MLL Defensive Player of the Year Brodie Merril’s record for most points by a defenseman in a season.

Stanwick, the 2012 Ohio Machine Rookie of the Year, finished his rookie campaign with 28 points in only nine games and led all rookies in the MLL in assists with 17.

Woodson, the 2012 Ohio Machine Offensive Player of the Year, finished his seventh MLL season playing in all 14 games for the Machine where he tallied 24 goals and 14 assists, leading the team in total points with 38.

Scheduled for 1:30 p.m. EST at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex in Lake Buena Vista,Fla., this eighth annual event will be the first in which the Team USA men take on the defending NCAA champion. Team USA also will square off against 2012 NCAA semifinalist Notre Dame on Saturday, Jan. 26, with Jacksonville University also scheduled to participate in the event.

The reigning world champion U.S. men’s national team, which defeated Canada to win the 2010 Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) World Championship, will bring 38 players to evaluate prior to tryouts for the 2014 U.S. men’s national team, to be held Aug. 30-Sept. 2, 2013. At the 2012 Champion® Challenge, Team USA defeated the University of Denver 16-15 in overtime.

The Team USA roster for the Champion® Challenge by position with professional teams, collegiate alma maters, and previous U.S. team experience noted:


Billy Bitter, Rochester Rattlers,North Carolina Grant Catalino, Long Island Lizards, Maryland Matt Danowski, Charlotte Hounds, Duke Matt Gibson, Long Island Lizards,Yale Mike Leveille, Rochester Rattlers, Syracuse* Kevin Leveille, Rochester Rattlers, Massachusetts Steele Stanwick, Ohio Machine, Virginia^ Chazz Woodson, Ohio Machine, Brown


Sam Bradman, LXM Pro Tour, Salisbury Steven Brooks, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Syracuse Steven DeNapoli, Rochester Rattlers, Hofstra Benson Erwin, N/A, Johns Hopkins Graham Gill, LXM Pro Tour, Navy Kyle Harrison, LXM Pro Tour, Johns Hopkins# Ben Hunt, Chesapeake Bayhawks, North Carolina Cameron Lao-Gosney, Hamilton Nationals, Lehigh Roman Lao-Gosney, Hamilton Nationals, Lehigh Peet Poillon, Charlotte Hounds, UMBC Paul Rabil, Boston Cannons, JohnsHopkins* Jeremy Sieverts, Denver Outlaws, Maryland Kevin Unterstein, Long Island Lizards, Hofstra


CJ Costabile, Long Island Lizards, Duke^ Ryan Flanagan, Charlotte Hounds, North Carolina Kyle Hartzell, Ohio Machine, Salisbury Brian Karalunas, Long Island Lizards, Villanova John Lade, Rochester Rattlers, Syracuse^ Eric Martin, Denver Outlaws, Salisbury* Kevin Ridgway, N/A, Notre Dame Dillon Roy, Denver Outlaws, Denver Brett Schmidt, Charlotte Hounds, Maryland Michael Simon, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Stevenson Chad Wiedmaier, Hamilton Nationals, Princeton Lee Zink, Denver Outlaws, Maryland


Jordan Burke, Boston Cannons, Brown

John Galloway, Rochester Rattlers, Syracuse Scott Rodgers, Hamilton Nationals, Notre Dame


Chris Eck, Boston Cannons, Colgate

Alex Smith, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Delaware*


* 2010 U.S. men’s national team member

# 2006 U.S. men’s national team member

^ 2008 U.S. men’s national under-19 team member


"Champion Challenge will be another opportunity for our coaching staff to evaluate the Team USA player pool prior to next year's tryouts, Team USA coach Richie Meade said. “We'll have some familiar faces to the program out there, and we'll also take a look at some new guys. We're looking forward to testing ourselves against what will be a top-notch opponent in Loyola."

Throughout the Jan. 25-27 weekend, the U.S. Women’s National Team will face Northwestern and Syracuse, the 2012 NCAA champion and runner-up, respectively. Both the U.S. men’s and women’s national teams will host instructional clinics for youth and high school players in grades 1-12, as well as coaching clinics on Saturday, Jan. 26. The U.S. women’s national team roster and ESPN TV schedule will be released later this year.

For more information about Champion® Challenge, a US Lacrosse event, visit>. For more information about the U.S. national teams, visit>.

Marriott, Nationwide and Shock Doctor are official sponsors of the U.S. National Teams Program.