navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

Machine Construct 35 Man Roster

March 19, 2016
The Ohio Machine, which begins its inaugural season in Major League Lacrosse in May 2012, rounded out its 2012 roster to 35 with the additions of 20 new players during the MLL Supplemental Draft today.

In the first four rounds, the Machine added MLL veteran and All-Star midfielder Chazz Woodson (1st overall), defenseman Ray Megill (9th overall) and midfielders Joel Zalesky (13th overall) and Matt Witko (17th overall) to its 2012 roster.  In addition, the Machine added attackmen Ian Dingman, Josh Coveleski, Buggs Combs, Patrick Smith and Sean Doyle, midfielders Josh Porcell, Nolan Godfrey, Matt Messina, Jim Borell, Brayton Williams, Eric O’Brien and Nicholas Marks, defensemen Andrew Irving, Matt Cafarelli and Brian Yontz and goalie Dan Loftus.

“With these 20 picks, our 2012 roster isfinally taking shape,” said President and GM John Algie. “We’re very pleased with this group of talented, dedicated and hungry players who are looking to compete for the MLL Championship in our first season.”

Woodson, a MLL All-Star, is entering into his seventh MLL season with the Machine after playing for Long Island, Boston, Los Angeles and Chicago. Woodson was drafted in the 2005 MLL Collegiate Draft by Long Island after playing for Brown University from 2002 to 2005. Woodson played all four seasons with Brown and was named two-time All-Ivy League and two-time All-New England selection. 

Megill joins the Machine having played five seasons for Boston (2007-2009) and Chesapeake (2010-2011) after playing at University of Maryland for four years. As a Terp, Megill was named 2007 Second-Team All-American, 2007 Preseason First Team All-American, 2006 USILA Third Team All-American, 2006 All-ACC, 2006 Preseason Honorable Mention All-America, 2005 USILA Honorable Mention All-American and 2005 ACC All-Tournament Team. Megill was a first round draft pick by Boston in 2007 and later helped the Bayhawks win the 2010 MLL Championship in his first year with the team.

Zalesky joins the Machine after playing for two seasons with the Hamilton Nationals, who drafted him in 2010. Prior to joining the Nationals, Zalesky played for Seton Hill University from 2007 to 2010.  Zalesky was named 2010 First Team All-American, 2010 ECC Player of the Year and 2010 First Team ECC. He closed out his senior season, for most of which he led DII in scoring, amassing a school record of 44 goals andfinished his college tenure with 121 goals and 74 assists for 195 points.

Matt Witko previously played for Tufts University from 2008 to 2011. He was named 2011 NEILA First Team, 2010 All-New England First Team and 2009 All-New England Second Team. Witko ended his senior year with a total of 26 goals and 11 assists for 37 points.  

Ohio Machine MLL Supplemental Draft Picks:

1st (1st overall) – Chazz Woodson – Brown University

2nd (9th overall) – Ray Megill – University of Maryland

3rd (13th overall) – Joel Zalesky – Seton Hill University

4th (17th overall) – Matt Witko – Tufts University

5th (25th overall) – Andrew Irving – Notre Dame

6th (33rd overall) – Ian Dingman – Navy

7th (41st overall) – Josh Coveleski – University of Delaware

8th (49th overall) – Josh Porcell – UMBC

9th (57th overall) – Nolan Godfrey – Merrimack College

10th (65th overall) – Buggs Combs – University of Maryland

11th (73rd overall) – Matt Messina – NYIT

12th (81st overall) – Jim Borell – University of Maryland

13th (89th overall) – Patrick Smith – Robert Morris University

14th (97th overall) – Brayton Williams – Brown University

15th (105th overall) – Matt Cafarelli – Ohio State

16th (113th overall) – Sean Doyle – Bellarmine University

17th (121st overall) – Eric O’Brien – Ohio State

18th (129th overall) – Nicholas Marks – Bucknell University

19th (137th overall) – Brian Yontz – Ohio State

Dan Loftus – 35th roster spot – Duke

The Machine has one more opportunity to acquire players in the MLL Collegiate Draft on January 13, where it holds the 2nd and 8th overall picks, before hosting invite-only tryouts in Spring 2012. 

2012 inaugural season tickets are now on sale, starting at only $100! Sections are filling up fast so call (614) 754-1973 or visit today!