navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

2019 Ohio Machine High School Showcase: Day 2 Preview

March 17, 2019

Game 1: Bishop Hartley vs. Dublin Jerome (girls)
Sunday, March 17 @ 10:30 AM
The Bishop Hartley Hawks finished last season at 9-6. They would make it to the second round of the playoffs before coming up short to Worthington Kilbourne. The Hawks had an experienced roster last season, as the graduated 11 seniors, with 10 of them being starters. They will look to compete in the competitive CCL league under core players Sydney Onega, Tommie Lipp, Sienna Caridi, and Sidney Sheridan. 

The Dublin Jerome Celtics took a little bit of a different path last season. They would make it to the regional semi-finals before coming up short to Thomas Worthington in a 10-9 battle. The Celtics would finish the year with a 14-5 record. Given they will be returning all but two starters, high expectations are in order for the team this season. Some of the key returning players include Gabby Rothermund, Sydney Stone, Emmy Peele, Kate Edwards, MaryGrace Zamary, Mackenzie Potts, Isabella Francati, and Katie McKibben. 

The last time these two teams matched up was in 2017. Dublin Jerome would leave the game victorious. Bishop Hartley will look to even the series on Sunday. 

Game 2: Dublin Jerome vs. Mason
Sunday, March 17 @ 12:45 PM
Last season’s matchup between the Dublin Jerome Celtics and Mason Comets came down to the wire. The Comets beat the Celtics 5-4 with the winning goal scored with less than 10 seconds left. 

Following that lose, the Celtics would go on to finish the season 14-5 and make it all the way to the regional semi-finals before coming up short to Dublin Coffman. It will be tough to come back stronger this season after losing key contributors Chris and Kellen Posacki, Charlie Farmer, and Nick Gosnell. But with returners Andrew Brim, the all state HM attack, the 2 nd team all-state defenseman Brandon Infante, all-state HM defenseman Zach Dubois, 2 nd team all-region middie Ryan Prochko, middie Trey Welch, and face off Reid McCrbb, it won’t take long for the team to find its footing.  

After finishing last season 13-8, the Comets will look to build around Xander Wells, Charley Sipe, Carson Croy, and Carson Block. The Comets’ season would come to a close after losing to Cincinatti Archbishop Moeller in the second round of the playoffs last season. 

Game 3: Columbus DeSales vs. Chagrin Falls
Sunday, March 17 @ 3:00 PM

This will be the first ever matchup between the Columbus DeSales Stallions and the Chagrin Falls Tigers. It will be a matchup between two powerhouse programs. Last season, the Stallions finished as state champions with a 19-3 record. They will however be playing this year without Jack Desantis, Will Mnich, Conor Obrien, Tyler Alber, Marco Susi, Anthony Cua, and Lou Dytko. 

The team will look to build around key players Carter Hillary, Tommy Clayton, Mason Rickens, Dante Fuller, Connor Thune, Jack Ayers, Noah Swenson, Kole Perrine, and Kahleb Lang. The Stallions currently have four Division 1 commits and one Division III commit. Carter Hillary - Ohio State; Tommy Clayton - Jacksonville; Mason Rickens and Dante Fuller - Rutgers; and Connor Thune – Otterbein. 

The Chagrin Falls Tigers would make it all the way to the state semi-finals last season, before being defeated by Ottawa Hills. Their final record would stand at 16-2 and would be ranked as high as number 2 in the state. They also will be without key contributors this season as well. Mark McGinley, the Division 2 Player of the Year now at Notre Dame. Cade Salyers now at John Carroll. Aiden Stephens currently playing at Salisbury. Kaeden Kalinyak currently at Ohio University. 

The team currently looks to play around All-American goalie Otto Bergmann, 2 nd team all-state defenseman Lucas Gaizutis, 3 rd team all-state LSM Clark Reboul, all region Will O’Brien and top offensive player Alex Morris. 

The Tigers have been to the state championship a total of four times, winning in 2003 and 2015. 

Game 4: New Albany vs. Hilliard Davidson
Sunday, March 17 @ 5:15 PM

The New Albany Eagles and Hilliard Davidson Wildcats currently hold a 3-3 all time record against each other. Hilliard Davidson finished their season last year with a 12-9 overall record. They would eventually lose to number 1 seed Upper Arlington in 2OT in the regional semifinals. New Albany would finish the season with a 16-5 record and make it to the regional semifinals. 

Key seniors lost this season for Hilliard Davidson include AJ Van Voorhis, Sam Backenstoe, Davis Sell, and Logan Sauer. Attack AJ Van Voorhis will be playing for the University of Detroit Mercy. Sam Backenstoe will be playing for Army West Point. 

The team will be returning most of their starting defense, which averaged 6.86 goals against last season, which was 2nd best in program history. Some of those key players include Evan Annis, Andrew Woollard, Alex Van Voorhis, Jake Blevins, Kalib O’Connor, Trent Nuccutelli, and Kirk Myers. 

New Albany will be playing without key graduated seniors Drew Miller, midfield, and Nathan Reader, attack. 10 of their 15 seniors will be collegiate student athletes.  The team prides themselves in being academically successful, as the team has a 3.5 GPA overall. 

The Eagles will have many key players returning however. Face off duo Peter Ackley and Aiden Day. Midfield pair Brode White and Cody Roberts. Defensemen Ben Chaddock, Luke Muter, Lucas Kasper, and Patrick Gurd. And also, goalie Perry Doran. 

About the Ohio Machine  
The Ohio Machine is a professional lacrosse team based in Columbus, Ohio. The Machine is one of nine teams competing in Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league. The team has been competing in the MLL since 2012 and won the franchise’s first MLL Championship in 2017. The team competes at Fortress Obetz, the nation’s first professional lacrosse specific stadium.  For more information on Ohio Machine lacrosse, please visit or follow the Machine on     Facebook,    TwitterSnapchat and    Instagram @machinemll